Site logo

Angel Heiarchy

Among Christian circles and general knowledge it is spoken four main kinds within the Angelic Hierarchy – Angels, Archangels, Cherubs and Seraphim. However there are at least nine categories registered in the Bible pertaining Angelical Hierarchy and Celestial Beings.

Stacks Image 207

First Sphere – Heavenly Counselors: They Perform Functions Before the Father.

Seraphim (singular "Seraph"), mentioned in Isaiah 6:1-7,

  • They serve as the caretakers of God's throne and continuously shout praises: "Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts. All the earth is filled with His Glory."

  • The name Seraphim means "the burning ones."

  • The Seraphim have six wings. Two wings cover their face, two cover their body, and two cover their feet.

  • It is said that such a bright light emanates from them that nothing, not even other angelic beings, can look upon them.

  • It is also said that there are four of them surrounding God's throne, where they burn eternally from love and zeal for God.

Cherubim have four faces: one of each a man, an ox, a lion, and an eagle. They have four conjoined wings covered with eyes, a lion's body figure, and they have ox's feet.

  • Protector heavenly beings. Cherubim guard the way to the Tree of Life in the Garden of Eden (Gn 3:24) and the throne of God (Ez 28:14-16). Therefore they know the ins and the outs of the Kingdom.

  • Lucifer belonged to this order prior to being casted out of Paradise. Ez 28:14-16

  • Other scriptural references are, Exodus 25:17-22; 2 Chronicles 3:7-14; Ezekiel 10:12–14, 1 Kings 6:23–28 and Revelation 4:6-8.

The "Thrones" (Gr. thronos) or Elders, also known as the Erelim or Ophanim, are a class of celestial beings mentioned by Paul of Tarsus in Colossians 1:16.

Thrones or Elders:

  • They are living symbols of God's justice and authority, and have as one of their symbols the throne.

  • These high celestial beings appear to be mentioned again in Revelation 11:16. Heavenly Sanhedrin.


  • The Ophanim (Heb. ofanim: Wheels, also known as Thrones, from the vision of Daniel 7:9) are unusual looking even compared to the other celestial beings; they appear as a beryl-colored wheel-within-a-wheel, their rims covered with hundreds of eyes. Ez 10:9-13

  • They are closely connected with the Cherubim: "When they moved, the others moved; when they stopped, the others stopped; and when they rose from the earth, the wheels rose along with them; for the spirit of the living creatures [Cherubim] was in the wheels." Ezekiel 10:17 NRSV.

Second Sphere – Heavenly Governors: Function in The Heavenly Courts.

Dominions (lat. Dominatio, plural dominationes, also translated from the Greek term Kyriotites as "Lordships"). Col 1:16

  • "Dominations" are presented as the hierarchy of celestial beings "Lordships" in the Heavenly Heirarchy.

  • The Dominions, also known as the Hashmallim, regulate the duties of lower angels. It is only with extreme rarity that the Angelic Lords make themselves physically known to humans.

  • They work side by side with the Lord of Lords, Jesus Christ and report to Him, when attending matters for the Kingdom. They are also the angels who preside over nations.

Virtues or Powers. Eph 1:21

  • Their primary duty is to supervise the movements of the heavenly bodies in order to ensure that the cosmos remains in order.

  • The term appears to be linked to the attribute "might", from the Greek root "δύναμις" in Ephesians 1:21, which is also translated as "Virtue".

  • The concept of Virtues signifies a certain powerful and unshakable virility welling forth into all their Godlike energies; not being weak and feeble for any reception of the divine; fashioning itself, as far as it may, in virtue; perfectly turned towards the Source of virtue, and flowing forth providentially to those below it, abundantly filling them with virtue. Virtues rearrange the energy of the Kingdom to distribute it among those who are following the Father’s plan.

Authorities from the Greek Exousies, (see Greek root in Eph 3:10)

  • Appear to collaborate, in power and authority, with the Principalities (Rulers).

  • The Authorities are the bearers of conscience and the keepers of history.

  • They are also the warrior angels created to be completely loyal to God. Their duty is to oversee the distribution of power among humankind, hence their name.

  • Also mentioned in Ephesians 1:21

Third Sphere – Heavenly Messengers and Soldiers: They are in charge of Nations and Men and are more closely tied to the material world.

Principalities (lat. Principatus, pl. principatūs) also translated as "Princedoms" and "Rulers"

  • From the Greek arche (see Greek root in Eph 3:10)

  • Appear to collaborate, in power and authority with the Authorities (Powers).

  • Their duty also is said to be to carry out the orders given to them by the Dominions and bequeath blessings to the material world.

  • Their task is to oversee groups of people.

  • They are the educators and guardians of the realm of earth.

  • Like beings related to the world of the germinal ideas, they are said to inspire living things to many things such as art or science.

Archangels, the word comes from the Greek αρχάγγελος (Archangělǒs),

  • Archangelos = Chief Angel, A translation of the Hebrew רב־מלאך (rav-mal'ákh) It derives from the Greek archō, meaning to be first in rank or power;

  • and aggělǒs which means messenger. The word is only used twice in the New Testament: 1 Thessalonians 4:16 and Jude 1:9.

  • Only Archangels Gabriel and Michael are mentioned by name in the New Testament.

  • Archangels are said to be the guardian Angels of nations and countries, and are concerned with the issues and events surrounding these, including politics, military matters, commerce and trade.

  • Archangel Michael is traditionally seen as the protector of Israel and of the Ecclesia, that is the Church.

Angels (malakhim Greek angělǒs) meaning Messenger

  • Are the lowest order of the Angelic Hierarchy and the most recognized category.

  • They are the ones that have more interaction with humans.

  • Within the category of the angels, there are many different kinds, with different functions.

  • Protectors that exercise Judgments from God. Gn. 19:11 “And they struck the men who were at the door of the house with blindness…”

  • Messengers. Luke 1:26 “Now in the sixth month [after that], the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a town of Galilee named Nazareth,”

  • They Guide. Ez 47:1 “Then he [my guide] brought me again to the door of the house [of the Lord—the temple],…”The

  • Reveal Truth. Rv 22:1 “Then he showed me the river whose waters give life, sparkling like crystal,…”

  • Angels of War. Joshua 5:14 NIV “but as commander of the army of the Lord I have now come.”

  • They Unveil Divine purposes. Gn 21:17 “And God heard the voice of the youth, and the angel of God called to Hagar out of heaven and said to her,…”

  • Are not the angels all ministering spirits (servants) sent out in the service [of God for the assistance] of those who are to inherit salvation? Heb 1:14AMP

  • Radiant in Light. Rv 18:1 “Then I saw another angel descending from heaven, possessing great authority, and the earth was illuminated with his radiance and splendor.”

  • Mighty in power. According to Revelations 20:1-2 one angel was enough to seize satan.

All this Angelic Hierarchy is submitted and under the command of Jesus Christ, Lord of Hosts. According to Ephesians 1:20-21, Colossians 1:16 and Joshua 5:14.